UNSMIL announces lists of candidates for Presidential Council and position of Prime Minister.

Published On(2021-01-31 00:19:36)

 Tripoli, 31 January, 2021 (Lana) - The United Nations Support Mission in Libya announced Saturday, the list of candidates for the Presidential Council and the position of Prime Minister.  

In a statement posted on its website UNSMIL said after the week-long deadline of receiving nominations for executive authority positions, which ended on January 28, it announces the list of candidates for the Presidential Council and the position of Prime Minister, as shown below in alphabetical order of Arabic language.

 In its statement, the mission expressed its deep appreciation of the efforts of the Vetting Committee, consisting of three members of the Libyan Political Dialogue Forum, to consider the candidates' applications and ensure their conformity with the nomination criteria agreed upon by the forum in Tunis by consensus. Noting that all the candidates have pledged to respect the roadmap approved by the forum regarding the preliminary period that paves the way for holding of national elections on December 24, 2021.

UNSMIL said that the candidates pledged, in the event that they are chosen to the executive authority, to submit a declaration to the relevant supervisory authorities of their fixed and movable property inside and outside Libya, as well as those of their wives, husbands and minor children.

They also pledged not to run in the elections at the end of the primary period and signed a legally binding affidavit confirming their compliance with the current Libyan nationality law.

With regard to the candidates from the military or judicial authorities, the Vetting Committee noted that it is essential that their nomination be consistent with the existing Libyan laws and regulations.

After the mission reviewed this issue, and while it emphasized that the political process is a process that the Libyans have ownersip of, the mission's position is that these candidates must fully comply with the relevant laws and regulations regarding participation in political activities or running for political office, according to the statement.

The United Nations Support Mission in Libya will hold a full meeting of the Libyan Political Dialogue Forum in Switzerland from 1 to 5 February to conduct the voting process on the new unified interim executive authority.

The mission clarified that during this meeting, the mission will invite all candidates to an interactive session with the members of the forum to allow the candidates to present their vision on the implementation of the roadmap agreed upon by the forum, as well as to answer questions posed by the forum members. In the period preceding the interactive sessions with the candidates and in the spirit of transparency and inclusiveness, the mission will also conduct a digital dialogue with all Libyans to receive their questions that will be presented to the candidates, and these interactive sessions will be made available to the Libyan public, according to the text of the statement. The following is the list of candidates for the Presidency Council, in alphabetical order, in the Arabic language:

1- Idris Suleiman Ahmed Al-Qayed.

2- Osama Gewili.

3- Asaad Muhammad Zuhio.

4- Khaled Al-Sayeh.

5- Khaled Ammar Al-Mishri.

6. Salama Ibrahim Al-Ghwail.

7. Suleiman Aswaiker Awad

8. Al-Sharif Al-Wafi

9. Saladin Al-Nimroush

10. Tariq Abdullah Al-Ashtar

11. Abd al-Rahman Muhammad Abu al-Qasim al-Balazi

12. Abdul Rahim Ali Mohamed Al-Shaibani

13. Abdullah Hussein Al-Lafi

14. Abdul Majeed Ghaith Saif Al-Nasr

15. Aqeelah Saleh Qwaider

16. Ali Abu Al-Hijab

17. Ali Mahmoud Bukhairallah

18. Omar Mahdi Abu Sherida

19. Magda WaFati

20. Muhammad Al-Gammoudi Al-Hafi

21. Muhammad Hasan Suleiman Al-Barghati

22. Muhammad Munafi.

23. Mustafa Abdel-Hamid Dallaf.

24. Musa al-Kuni

Candidates for the position of Prime Minister (in alphabetical order in the Arabic language):

1- Amal Jarrai.

2- Ahmed Omar Ahmad Amaitiq.

3- Osama Essid.

4- Iman Kasher.

5- Jamal Abu Bakr Imran Abu Green.

6- Al-Haramayn Mohammad Al-Haramayn.

7- Khaled Mohamed Abdullah Lagwil.

8- Daou Abdullah Abduwayh.

9- Atef Miloud Al Hassia.

10- Abdul Hamid Muhammad Dabaiba.

11- Abdul Rahim Mukhtar Al-Muntaser.

12- Abdul Razzaq Ahmed Abdel Qader.

13- Uthman Abdul-Jalil Mohamed.

14- Fathallah Hussein Abdul Karim Mohamed.

15- Fathi Ali Abdel Salam Bashagha.

16- Fadil Al-Amin.

17- Muhammad Al-Ansari.

18- Muhammad Abdul Latif Al-Muntaser.

19- Muhammad Mu'in Mansur Al-Kikhia.

20- Muftah Hammadi.

21- Hisham Abdullah Abu Al-Shkiwat.